History & Traditions

The Casey TigerSharks Swimming Club (formerly known as Cranbourne Tigersharks) was formed in 1980 to cater for a growing demand for competition swimming in the Cranbourne area.  The black and yellow club uniform with the tigershark logo was a familiar sight at pools across Victoria and the Cranbourne Tigersharks trained at the old Cranbourne Indoor Pool in Grant Street .

In the late 1990's the club experienced significant growth and the Cranbourne Tigersharks included swimmers from the Cranbourne area but also fro other parts of the City of Casey.  In 2001 the club decided to change its name to appeal more broadly to the growing population within the City of Casey. 

The Tigershark theme was retained and the Cranbourne Tigersharks became the Casey TigerSharks.  The club has a new club uniform and the modern orange tigershark logo has replaced the traditional black and yellow.  The club's training facilities have grown as new aquatic facilities have been built in the area by Casey Council:

  • Old Cranbourne Indoor Pool 1977 (?) - 2009
  • Casey ARC (Narre Warren) 2002 (?) - current (indoor 50m)
  • Casey RACE (Cranbourne) 2009 - current (indoor 50m)

The Casey TigerSharks operate under the auspices of Swimming Victoria and Swimming Australia Incorporated.  Swimming Victoria Incorporated (Established 1893) is the name of the Victorian Swimming parent body and is made up of  Metropolitan and Country districts.  It controls and administers the sport of swimming in the State of Victoria in accordance with the rules of Swimming Australia Incorporated, which in turn functions under the International rules of the World body F.I.N.A. The Casey TigerSharks forms part of the Metropolitan South District of swimming clubs.

In 2012 Matson Lawson placed on the Australian Olympic Team and competed at the London Olympics in the 200 backstroke.

In 2014 the Casey TigerSharks were designated a Swimming Australia Podium Potential Centre (1 of only 14 in Australia). The same year placing 3 swimmers on the 2014 Glasgow Commonwealth Games Team with Josh Beaver winning 2 x Silver & 1 x Bronze medals and Matson Lawson winning a Bronze.